BBA #16 Kaiser Rolls Repeated

Kaiser Rolls are the next recipe in the Bread Baker’s Apprentice and I loved them so much the first time I made them, that I decided that for the sake of the blog, I should remake them and get some pictures posted. That and the fact that Andrew and I wanted to test out his new Christmas present (a fancy schmancy BBQ grill) and we needed some buns for those burgers. This dovetailed nicely with updating this-here blog, so the Kaiser Rolls were born again!

A few days before burger night, I started a double batch of pate fermente and stuck it in the fridge. I used part (16 oz) for the French Bread and (7 oz) for these rolls. I still had 20 ounces left over!!! so I stuck it in the refrigerator to freeze until I need it for another recipe. I’m convinced that it would just keep growing until a giant blob of dough took over my fridge entirely. What a clean up job that would be – no thank you- but I digress…..  

Above you will find the ingredients for this recipe: unbleached bread flour, pate fermente, egg (slightly beaten), vegetable oil, water, salt, poppy seeds (decoration), sesame seeds (decoration) yeast and diastatic malt powder. Actually as you can see in the top photos – mine is NON-diastatic malt powder, but it seems to have worked out fine. By using what I had on hand instead of buying regular diastatic malt powder I think the rolls didn’t “brown” as nicely as they would have and didn’t have a “shine” that the right powder could give, but I’ve made my peace with that.

I added everything to my mixing bowl and with the bread hook in place, I started it on speed 2 to mix the ingredients together.

Once the dough was ready, about 12 minutes, I covered the bowl with plastic and let it rise for about 2 hours.

After 2 hours had elapsed, the dough had doubled and I started dividing the it  into about equal sized pieces. This turned out to be about 4.25 oz each.

I formed each piece into a boule and let them rest (covered) for about 10 minutes. This allows the dough to rest before I start shaping them into a “traditional” Kaiser roll shape. I say “traditional” but I’m not sure how close my final shape ended up being traditional, but, eh, moving on!

To shape I started by rolling each ball into about an 8 inch long rope. Next I tied a loose knot in the rope and tucked on end down the hole and stuck one end up through the hole. I pretty much had one shot at getting it right since the dough stuck to itself once tied and you pretty much ended up with a mottled ball of dough in the end. Which explains what happened with the lower right-hand side roll – there were problems….

Once shaped, I recovered the rolls and let them rise for about 45 minutes. I preheated the oven to 450 degrees while I waited for the dough to double.

Just a tip: make sure you know which side of the plastic you wrote your rising time info – sharpie marker does in fact come off on to your dough if it touches it.  Oopsies!

Once doubled, I used a spray bottle and coated the top of the rolls with a fine mist of water. I applied poppy seeds to two, sesame seeds to two and left the last two plain.

I slid the rolls onto the baking stone and let them bake for about 10 minutes. I carefully rotated the rolls in the oven and left them for about 8 more minutes with the temp turned down to 400 degrees. They were starting to smell pretty good at that point so I tested them with my probe thermometer and they registered 200 degrees – done!

After cooling for about 25 minutes, I slice a few open and slathered the inside with peppercorn ranch dressing, added my perfectly grilled gorgonzola basil burger and topped that off with a little lettuce. It was burger heaven on a home-made bun!

Kaiser rolls are done – so that means Lavash crackers are up next!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa on January 17, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    You’re Kaiser rolls look absolutely BEAUTIFUL! I love kaisers and would love to have tasted these. So, I am going out this week and buying ” The Bread Makers Apprentice” and join in all the fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

