FFwD: Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake

 This weeks recipe is fantastic. I made it in honor of one of my fantastic co-worker’s birthday and it was a hit to say the least. It was chock full of appley-custardy goodness!

Now I love apples, specifically crisp, crunchy and sweet apples, so this recipe really hit the mark.

I gathered together flour, sugar, butter, salt, baking powder, vanilla and eggs (not shown). Earlier that day I picked up a variety of apples: honeycrisp, fuji, ambrosia, and two smaller galas.

I melted the butter in the microwave and then added the eggs that had been beaten until frothy, and then added the sugar and vanilla and whisked until blended.

In another bowl, I stirred together the flour, salt and baking powder.

I alternated adding half the dry ingredients to the wet and mixed, then added the second half and mixed until incorporated.

At this point the recipe calles for a few tablespoons of dark rum, but when I looked for the mini bottles at the grocery store I couldn’t find them. I wasn’t about to spend $18 dollars on a bottle for the recipe that calls for a  less than a quarter cup of rum so I decide to go without. Upon my return home I perused the liquor shelf and saw that I did have a few teaspoons of spiced rum at home, so I figured that would be an acceptable substitution. I added it in the batter.

Next I peeled, cored and cut the apples into roughly 1 inch pieces and added them to the buttered and parchment lined cake tin.

I placed in the oven for almost an hour until the top caramelized and the sides started to pull away from the pan. The smell of caramel and apples filled the house and I couldn’t wait to try it!

Once it had cooled, I flipped the cake on to my cake carrier and took it into the office. Once the happy birthday song was sung we all had a piece of this perfect treat.

I’m making this one again!

This recipe and blog post is part of the French Fridays with Dorie group who are baking their way through “around my french table” by Dorie Greenspan. If you are interested joining the group please get your self a copy of the book and register!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Candy on November 4, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Looks gorgeous! What a great recipe. Hmmmm… Maybe you’ll make it again for some house guests!

    Reply

  2. I loved this cake and my husband wants me to make it again because it is now one of his favorites as well. Yours looks perfectly browned and I bet that spicey rum gave it a little extra kick.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

