BBA #12 English Muffins

Oh man, these were good! I never thought that I would ever make English muffins! I love them, but always thought they were just easier to buy at the store. BUT, due to their price – yikes – they were regulated to some-what of an indulgence. I was so excited to learn how to turn simple, cheap and easy to find ingredients in to one of my favorite  breakfast foods! Let’s see how it’s done:

Find some unbleached bread flour, sugar, salt, yeast, butter and buttermilk (or regular milk) and set them out. My buttermilk was frozen so, I put both the buttermilk and the butter in a bowl and microwaved them just until the buttermilk was melted.

Add together the flour, sugar, salt and yeast. Then mix in the buttermilk and butter.

I used my bread whisk to get the dough started and then dumped the mix into the Kitchen Aid and used the bread hook to mix the dough until I could get a window-pain and the dough was smooth and elastic. I oiled the bowl and placed the dough in the bottom and covered it with plastic. I let the dough rise until doubled (between 60-90 minutes).

 Once the dough is doubled, I wiped down the counter top with a damp sponge and placed the dough ball on the counter. Trying not to deflate the dough completely, I carefully divided the dough into six pieces and formed each into a boule.  I sprayed a piece of parchment paper with oil and set the six boules on the paper with enough room for them to rise again. I recovered them with  the plastic and waited for them to double again. (Another 60-90 minutes).

Meanwhile, I placed a liberally oiled griddle on the burner over a medium flame. I also preheated the oven to 350 degrees. Once the dough had doubled, I placed three boules on the griddle and let them cook for about 7 minutes. I should have checked them a little sooner, since they were a little on the dark side. I flipped them over and gave the other side the same treatment. When I the first three were done I placed them on a pan in the oven and cooked them for another 5 minutes. This allows the inside of the muffin to finish cooking. I repeated this process with the last three boules. This is one recipe that I could have easily doubled or tripled!

Look at those! So good, just a bit of tang from the butter milk and lots of little “nooks and crannies” to let the butter sink into.

 The trick to “nooks and crannies” is to use a fork and pierce the side of the muffin all the way around, then tear the two sides apart. Toast till golden in the toaster add butter and your favorite jam.

If your feeling fancy, you could whip up some Hollandaise sauce, poach and egg and slice some ham to make the best Eggs Benedict you could ever have! Enjoy =)

Next up: Focaccia

Leave a Reply

