French Friday’s with Dorie: Gougeres

I was amazed at how yummy these little puffs of cheesy air were when I tasted one that I had just pulled from the oven. My first thought was that these little things were much greater than the sum of their parts.

Since the first time I baked a french recipe, courtesy of Julia, I have come to understand that the French are masters of the Egg. They are able to take the simplest and most common of ingredients and by whipping the yolk or the whites or both, warming them up, cooling them down adding a little sugar, or lemon or vanilla and you end up with something AMAZING. It’s genius and I suspect it is one of the reasons that french food is in its own class in world cuisine. It’s all due to the egg and their mastery of it.

For the gougeres, we use whole milk, water, unsalted butter, flour, five eggs and cheese. The simple ingredients whipped together, dropped on to a sheet pan, and then baked in the oven until golden brown, give you something that is not a bread and not a biscuit, but a puff with a custardy inside – similar to a popover, the cheese (extra sharp cheddar for me) becomes the star. These light puffs are mostly hollow inside, the crust gives a satisfying crunch when bitten into and then the whole thing melts away leaving the taste of the cheese on your tongue. I was compelled to try another immediately to confirm what I was indeed tasting! Yup, that is heaven!

This recipe is part of the French Fridays with Dorie group who are baking their way through “around my french table” by Dorie Greenspan. The recipe for gougeres can be found on page 4.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Candy on October 3, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    They look gorgeous! Weren’t they fun to make?! I think I’ll try cheddar next time, or a combo of that plus Stilton (Andrew might like that!).

    Reply

  2. Your gougeres look delicious! I agree with you that they are “much greater than the sum of their parts.” Well said =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

