French Friday’s with Dorie: Gerard’s Mustard Tart

The next recipe the FFwD bakers made this week is Gerard’s Mustard Tart. This was a very interesting tart for me to try since I could not think of anything that I had ever tasted that had this flavor profile. This very interesting tart included these ingredients: carrots, leeks, fresh rosemary, eggs, heavy cream, Dijon mustard and grainy mustard, salt and white pepper. 

We start with Dorie’s Tart Dough on page 498 which calls for flour, a little sugar, salt, unsalted butter, eggs and cold water. I filled the bowl of my food processor with the flour, sugar, salt, and butter, and pulsed it just until the butter was mixed into the flour. Next I added the egg and water and pulsed until it was just incorporated. I dumped the contents onto the countertop and pressed the dough into a ball. While I was preparing the ingredients for the tart I let the dough chill in the refrigerator before I rolled it out.

Once the dough was rolled to the approximate size I needed, I placed it in a tart pan with a removable bottom and put it back in the freezer for about an hour.

Meanwhile, I sliced the leeks and carrots and placed them in the steamer with a sprig of rosemary for about 10 minutes until they were just tender. The smell of the rosemary was amazing and I was surprised at how much of the rosemary flavor was infused into the carrots and vegetables. Yum!

I needed to par-bake the tart dough, so while it baked for a few minutes in the oven, I checked on my steaming veggies. Everything was going according to plan so far, so I grabbed a bowl and mixed the mustards, eggs, cream, salt and pepper. It was a quiche filling with two kinds of mustard! Very savory.

I recommend following Dorie’s suggestion about keeping the veggies trimmed to about 3 inches long. At first mine were closer to 5 inches and they were very messy and overlapped in the center of the tart. I fished the veggies back out of the egg and ended up trimming the leeks and carrots down to the 3 inch segments that Dorie suggests. It worked much better – always listen to Dorie, she will not lead you astray.

With just a few turns of the pepper mill and a sprinkle of salt across the top of the tart and George’s Mustard Tart was ready for the oven. The top puffed up beautifully and was lightly browned and the taste was amazing. The mustard had mellowed down and the flavors of the carrot and leeks were present in every bite. It was so good and certainly my taste buds were thrilled with this very cosmopolitan combination.  I will certainly be making this again!

I served this to my GOBC book club girls and it was so good that I even managed to convince Candy to join me in this “around my french table” adventure! So much fun!

This recipe is part of the French Fridays with Dorie group who are baking their way through “around my french table” by Dorie Greenspan. The recipe for Gerard’s Mustard Tart can be found on page 154.

4 responses to this post.

  1. The smell in my kitchen was the best for this one! I wish I could convince one of my friends to do this with me. As it is now they just show up to eat the proceeds. How selfish! lol. Good JOB!

    Trevor Sis. Boom.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Candy on October 8, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I’m so delighted that Teri shared the idea of ffwd with me! It’s fun to compare notes. Teri, your tart looks lovely, and I can attest that it tastes great too.

    Reply

  3. it looks delicious, great job! Tia @ Buttercreambarbie

    Reply

  4. It looks great! Don’t you just love the tart dough?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

